After big chop make-over

CURLOLUTION BEYOND THE ONLINE COMMUNITY

https://i0.wp.com/sphotos.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ash4/c68.0.403.403/p403x403/252206_304818016276864_1431982231_n.jpg

Three words to describe Curlvolution (Curlfriends day out) this weekend, candy, colour and  pampering .  If you are a recent natural, you know that the natural community is one of the fastest growing communities on-line. A great place, for advice and know-how methods, for the old and new natural. So if you are part of the Natural on-line community, you’d be please to know that they have come face to face in the form of Curlvolution.

Founder Bukki

Founder Bukki

The big chop - Before

The big chop – Before

After big chop make-over

After big chop make-over

Going Natural
You see when a girl goes natural whether it’s transitioning or doing the big chop, the most obvious thing would be to ask a friend, to show her how it’s done. Unfortunately  if the majority of her friends have straight hair or extensions, that might prove difficult.
You’d think it would be easy to know your hair since we are born with it. We should automatically know how to care for our hair. But no two heads of coils are the same. Understanding that a great majority of women of African descent are oblivious to how to manage their hair is the norm.
On the way there
In fact before I got to the door, I bumped into a Natural hair celebrity blogger,  Laila Jean (on the train) a lovely young lady who’s been transitioning for two years on her channel Fusionofcultures. We had a great chat on the way there and I felt like I met royalty.  As I stepped into the door with tension and excitement I wasn’t sure what to expect. For the last 5 years of my natural journey, I had been following American website BGLH/ Blackgirlwithlonghair who had been publicising series of event s all around natural get together. This got me really hyped up that as I stepped through the door  I couldn’t believe what I was seeing. The online community had now come to life

Afro girl in a candy store

They had a stand for everything hair products, hair accessories and Afro-accessories i.e.  Earrings necklaces… and pampering from nails , make-up and threading. And did I say they had a proper candy bar and mini cupcakes. Hhhhmm…..
The sessions and panel of afro-hair bloggers were led by Motivational speaker Action Jackson who got us chanting “ I am Amazing” and “I am focused, I’m disciplined and I’m done.” What a host, he got us all dancing through the day.
Introduction from all the vendors and finally 2 live big chops with Adornment 365 , which were the most emotional part of the day. The event finished at 5.30pm but the vibe was so good that I left at 6.30pm.

They are Beautiful

They are Beautiful

If you would have told me 5 years ago that Sat 9th of June 2012 I would be sharing my online experience off-line, in one room with other naturals, I would have told you that was crazy, and It only happens in America.  Though I made a conscious decision to go Natural, I don’t think I was serious enough to fully understand what I was getting myself into.

When I was a child I was told my hair was hard, ugly and unmanageable by a professional renowned hairdresser , ….my aunt. Though she meant well she had very little understanding and knowledge of natural hair which marked the way I saw my hair for the rest of my teenage and adult life.  At Curlvolution I felt like I was the friend with more knowledge ready to pass it on. I highly recommend Curlvolution and even suggested to founder Bukki that she should have more frequents events in that line.                      Curlvolution = I AM AMAZING!!

You can find Curlvolution  Here, and Here

This article was written by our social media expert and blogger Mathy Lisika-Minsende

Leave a comment